THAT girl

I’m that girl…

That held your hands under the sheets.

That girl you’d kiss on the check,

Right before we’d fall asleep.

That girl you’d call at 1 in the morning…

I should have known better.

That was my warning…

That girl no one knew about. Why?

I don’t know. Maybe it’s time to go…

Our separate ways, to disconnect…

From each other to see what really matters,

And what’s more important.

I’m that girl you were “just friends” with.

Nothing more, nothing less.

I’m that girl that says we’re all good,

When deep down, it’s a constant cause and effect.

I’m that girl you’d argue with,

And we’re not even together.

I’m that girl that knew she deserved better…

But I didn’t take a detour when God was telling me to turn around.

I’m that girl…

• 4 years ago, I met this boy. We started off as complete strangers, then became really good friends, to where we’d hangout almost everyday. We got to know each other pretty well. I wasn’t sure what his intentions were until one night, he slept over, and that’s when he made it clear. I didn’t see that coming at all. I thought we were just gonna be friends. But us being “friends” turned into us being friends with benefits. This went on for about 2 1/2 years. Within those 2 1/2 years, we stopped talking for 2 months, then 3 weeks, then another 3 months. There would be times where he’d text me almost everyday for 5 months straight, then I wouldn’t get a text for 2 months. I had a hard time forgiving him but it wasn’t just his fault. It was my fault too. I wasn’t thinking, I just thought he was busy with work or his phone was out of commission. We never said “I love you” to each other, but he would always tell me that he cared for me, and that one day, someone is gonna be so stoked to end up with me. The one thing he left out was that it wasn’t gonna be him. We didn’t talk for almost 2 years, and then about 4 months ago, I ran into him. He came to confession and apologized for everything. I did the same. I’m glad to say that I’m no longer THAT girl 🙂

Xoxo, Savvy ❤

Leave a Reply

