I found myself in a ditch…

I found myself in a ditch,

Looking at everyone else’s lives

Wishing I could switch…

Knowing I couldn’t, wouldn’t and shouldn’t

But the thoughts remain in my head

I didn’t listen to what anyone said

I was doing my own thing,

Thinking I was always right

Until things hit the ceiling

And that’s when I started believing

I built a bridge, but I haven’t walked across it yet

Sometimes you need to sacrifice things to gain better in the end

Be you because there’s no one else

I can finally say that I found myself

โ€ข I wrote this poem back in 2012, when I first became a believer. At that time in my life, I was living in deep jealousy, and I was constantly comparing my life to others. I was looking at the things they had that I didn’t, and it made me feel so out of the loop. But then, as I was writing this poem, the words came to me, and God reminded me that my life shouldn’t be the same as everyone’s, that I should be my own person. I kept trying to be like everyone else, and I was in denial about a lot of things. I finally came to confession that I couldn’t be anyone BUT myself, and that the bridge I built is still there but I’m only halfway across. 2012 was the year that changed my life, it was the year that I told myself I wanted to live a life for God and even though I’ve failed Him countless times, His mercies are new everyday, and I’m so thankful. ๐Ÿ™‚

Xoxo, Savvy โค

9 Comments

  1. Every story of changed life is beautiful to discover and observe. It is that story that made your poem even more beautiful. Happy for your decision Savvy โ˜บ And lovely lines you got there โ˜บ

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It can definitely get us down when we look around us all the time. One thing I’ve trained myself to do since I became a believer, was to stop looking horizontally at other people and keep looking vertically to the One above.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

