I’ve always told myself

I’ve always told myself

To keep the past on the shelf

To better, not bitter

And to never be afraid to ask for help

I’ve always told myself

That I know better

But that doesn’t mean I’m a go-getter

I don’t always do what I’m told

And I don’t always do what I say

But I know I have good intentions,

And I believe God always has a way

To turn something terrible into something amazing

Because when we overcome those battles,

It’s God we’re praising

I’ve always told myself

That honesty is key

And that the truth will set me free

I didn’t understand that at first

Because for me, the truth hurts

I hear it and then I’ll deny it

But how is that going to help me?

I need to let go, let God and let things be

I’ve always told myself

That God loves me just the way I am

And that I can live a life for Him

Because even though I sin,

It starts with myself within

I’ve always told myself

To look beyond the surface

Because I’m trying my best to live for God

And I know I have a purpose

Xoxo, Savvy ❤

Leave a Reply

